Search Britannia

Britannia Departments
British Life
Britannia Favourites
NEW! Britannia Tours
London Guide
Wales Guide
Monarchs of Britain
NEW! Biographies
British Government
UK Newspapers Online
Earth Mysteries
The Arts: Theatre, Literature
What's Cooking
The Arts
British Video Index
British Book Index
British Audio Index
Books by British Writers
Aldous Huxley
Bernard Knight
George Orwell
Edith Pargeter
J.K. Rowling
Historical Mystery Writers
Kathy Lynn Emerson
Roberta Gellis
Bernard Knight
Ellis Peters
Sharon Penman
Candace Robb
Books by Subject
London Guidebooks
Historical Mystery Novels
News Sports The Arts Government

 | Music | Movies Humour | Literature | Museums

British Video Index | British Book Index | British Audio Index

Edith PargeterEdith Pargeter, who also wrote under the more widely known pseudonym of Ellis Peters, was born in the village of Horsehay in Shropshire in 1913. She loved the Welsh borderlands and all her best works are set there. Edith enjoyed writing from a young age and had her first novel published in 1936. During the War, she enlisted in the Women's Royal Navy Services and was awarded the British Empire Medal on VE Day. During this period she wrote the much-acclaimed Jim Benison Trilogy tracing the adventures of a young British soldier. After the war, Edith's many visits to Czechoslovakia encouraged her to learn the Czech language and translate many of the country's great works of literature. As her daily staple, she wrote the 'Inspector Felse' mystery novels, under the name of Ellis Peters, while work progressed on her great historical Welsh border novels, the Heaven Tree Trilogy (1960-2) and the Brothers of Gwynedd Quartet (1974-77). However, it was not until 1977, that the now-famous Brother Cadfael first came upon the scene. Having re-read the true story of Shrewsbury Abbey's acquisition of the bones of St. Winifred, Edith was struck with the idea that it would make a marvellous backdrop for a murder mystery and the sleuthing herbalist was born.

 Edith Pargeter Novels

 The Heaven Tree Trilogy
  • The Heaven Tree
  • The Green Branch
  • The Scarlet Seed
  • The Complete Heaven Tree Trilogy

     The Brothers of Gwynedd Quartet
  • Sunrise in the West
  • The Dragon at Noonday
  • The Hounds at Sunset
  • Afterglow and Nightfall
  • The Complete Brothers of Gwynedd Quartet

     Other Historical Novels
  • A Bloody Field by Shrewsbury
  • The Marriage of Meggotta

     Jim Benison Trilogy
  • Eighth Champion of Christendom
  • Reluctant Odyssey
  • Warfare Accomplished

     Other Works
  • By Firelight
  • The Lily Hand and Other Stories
  • A Means of Grace
  • Lost Children
  • Never Pick up Hitch-Hikers!
  • She goes to War
  • Soldier at the Door

     George Felse & Family Series
  • Fallen into the Pit
  • Death Mask
  • The Will and the Deed
  • Death and the Joyful Woman
  • Funeral of Figaro
  • Flight of a Witch
  • A Nice Derangement of Epitaphs
  • The Piper on the Mountain
  • Black is the Colour of My True-Love's Heart
  • The House of Green Turf
  • The Knocker on Death's Door
  • Death to the Landlords
  • City of Gold and Shadows
  • The Horn of Roland
  • Rainbow's End
  • Mourning Raga

     Felse Family Omnibi
  • The Dominic Felse Omnibus
  • The George Felse Omnibus
  • The Detective Omnibus

     Brother Cadfael Series
  • A Rare Benedictine
  • A Morbid Taste for Bones
  • One Corpse too many
  • Monk's Hood
  • St. Peter's Fair
  • The Leper of St. Giles
  • The Virgin in the Ice
  • The Sanctuary Sparrow
  • The Devil's Novice
  • Dead Man's Ransom
  • The Pilgrim of Hate
  • An Excellent Mystery
  • The Raven in the Foregate
  • The Rose Rent
  • The Hermit of Eyton Forest
  • The Confession of Brother Haluin
  • The Heretic's Apprentice
  • The Potter's Field
  • The Summer of the Danes
  • The Holy Thief
  • Brother Cadfael's Penance

     Brother Cadfael Omnibi
  • The First Cadfael Omnibus
  • The Second Cadfael Omnibus
  • The Third Cadfael Omnibus
  • The Fourth Cadfael Omnibus
  • The Fifth Cadfael Omnibus
  • The Sixth Cadfael Omnibus
  • The Seventh Cadfael Omnibus

  • Ellis Peters' Shropshire
  • Shropshire
  • Strongholds and Sanctuaries: The Borderland of England and Wales

     Associated Works by Other Authors
  • The Cadfael Companion -Whiteman
  • Cadfael Country -Whiteman & Talbot
  • Cordially Yours, Brother Cadfael -Kaler
  • Edith Pargeter: Ellis Peters -Lewis


     Edith Pargeter Links

  • Brother Cadfael in Shrewsbury
  • The Cadfael Chronicle
  • A Cadfael Compendium
  • Shrewsbury Abbey

  •  Featured Book
    An Excellent MysteryAn Excellent Mystery
    In 1141 England is still torn by the civil strife caused by the struggle for the throne between King Stephen and the Empress Maud. Among the victims of the carnage is the Abbey of Hyde Meade, totally destroyed. Its brothers are scattered far and wide. Two seek refuge in Shrewsbury: Brother Humilis, who has abandoned his intended marriage and entered the cloister after crippling injuries received on Crusade; and the mute Fidelis, his devoted attendant. All is well until Nicholas, once Humilis' squire, resolves to pay court on his own account to the girl who was his lord's affianced bride, and comes to ask his blessing on the suit. Then a latent tragedy becomes a present reality, and only the ever-indefatigable Brother Cadfael can distinguish between the innocent, the guilty - and the victims foredoomed by the demands of honour, love and Fate. ...Check price & availability
          Copyright ©1999, LLC