Kings of the Isles: British Monarchs
Welcome to Britannia's Award-Winning History Department

Search Britannia

Pitkin Guides
Shop Britannia
Home | History | Travel
Tours | London | Arts
Panorama | News

History Quicklist

Monarchs | Timelines
Documents | Maps | EBK
King Arthur | Time Indexes

Travel Quicklist

The Kings of the Isles The Norse Kingdom of Man and the Isles

The Kings of the Isles
Somerled 1158-1164
Dugald 1164-c.1192 (joint)
Ragnald 1164-c.1210
Donald I c.1210-1230
Uspak 1230
Dugald Screech 1230-1235 (joint)
Duncan 1230-1248
Ewen Mac Dougall 1248-1249
Dugald Mac Ruari 1249-1266

Lords of the Isles under Scottish Rule
Angus Mor the Elder 1266-1296
Alexander I 126-1299
Angus Og the Younger 1299-1330
John I 1330-1387
Donald II 1387-1423
Alexander II 1423-1449
John II1449-1493

Scottish Rule 1493-1545
Donald Dubh the Black 1545

The Lordship of the Isles finally merged with the Scottish Crown in 1545. The title is currently held by the heir to the British throne.

The Norse Kings of Man & the Isles
The English 'Kings of Man'
Return to Monarchs Index      Copyright ©1999, LLC