Tours > Winchester |
Tour the City of Winchester
by David Nash Ford BA, Editor, History on Britannia
City Mill City Map, #3
A City Mill has stood near the bridge outside the old East Gate (demolished) of Winchester since at least the 11th century. For much of its life, it was in the possession of the nuns of Wherwell Abbey and it appears as such in the Domesday Survey of 1086. It passed to the City Corporation in 1554.
The present structure was built over the River Itchen from local brick in 1744 and clad in rustic hanging tiles. The water-wheel was been restored in relatively recent times and this picturesque building opened to the public by the National Trust. The bubbling Mill Race and the Island Garden make a peaceful escape from the bustling city.
Next Stop: Old Chesil Rectory