Guide to East London

Britannia Home
Travel Home

TRAVEL GUIDES
London
Wales
Scotland
Earth Mysteries
Virtual Tours

TRAVEL RESOURCES
UK Vacations
UK & London Hotels
Travel Directories
Resource Centre
Reservations Centre
Packing Guide
Currency Converter
ATM Locator
UK Weather
UK Phonebook

GUIDE BOOKS
Pitkin Guides
Britain & England
London

TRAVEL SERVICES
Airport Transfers
Car Rental



The George Inn

77 Borough High Street, Southwark, SE1
Tel: (0) 171 407 2056
Tube: London Bridge, Borough

Rebuilt in 1676 after the Great Fire of Southwark, this the only remaining large, galleried coaching inn. It's mentioned by Charles Dickens in his novel 'Little Dorrit'.

Some of the old bedrooms now serve as the Coaching Room Restaurant, with the entrance via the gallery that overlooks the cobbled courtyard. More of the bedrooms are now George and Talbot function rooms, the latter reputedly haunted. The Coffee Room, once the haunt of Charles Dickens is now the Middle Bar, retaining its Dickensian atmosphere. The Old Bar is where the coachmen and their passengers would await departure time.

The pub is owned by the National Trust and is often busy with tourists and commuters. It is the taste of London as it used to be 50 years after Columbus discovered the Americas while the Tudors reigned, and Francis Drake was still sailing around the world.

Close by discover, one remaining part of the (Rennie) London Bridge not moved to Lake Havasu (blue waters) in the Arizona Desert, USA; the Borough Fruit & Vegetable Wholesale Market and the gothic Southwark Cathedral known to William Shakespeare.



Copyright ©2001 Britannia.com, LLC   Questions? Comments!   Design & Development Unica Multimedia